Beware of these 5 Beginner’s Blunders in Post Processing Portraits


Mike:

Great tips!

Originally posted on Photofocus:

As you read this, think back to when you were beginning photography…  I’m sure you’d be able to relate to this to yourself (or your friend) and hopefully laugh (and not cry).

Alright, so this list may not be super accurate and is in no particular order, but, I think it is safe to say that every beginning photographer has experimented with at least four out of the five blunders. I know I did,  and believe me, I have had to work through these as I grew and became more experienced in photography.

The goal with portraiture is to make that person look their best and convey personality and emotion. Too much post processing can distract from that goal and actually work against it. If you’re new to photography and find yourself doing things in this list over and over, perhaps it is time to take a more sophisticated approach…

View original 1,171 more words

About Mike
A resident of the “30 square miles surrounded by reality,” I spend most of my time teaching economics and statistics to undergraduate students. I enjoy, naturally, economics and business, but also science (I was once an astronomical observatory assistant), politics, photography, food, travel and sports. Madison has grown quite a bit since 1978 when Governor Lee Dreyfus made that remark. According to Wikipedia, Madison is 67.3 square miles of land and 16 square miles of water. Visit http://thisgotmyattention.wordpress.com/about/ for one of my favorite views of the isthmus. Or, why not come visit us! http://visitmadison.com

One Response to Beware of these 5 Beginner’s Blunders in Post Processing Portraits

  1. Pingback: 5 Business Blunders That Will Make You Cry | TechAcute

Leave a Reply

