Second raspberry of the Summer

The first one somehow found its way into my mouth before I thought about taking a photo.

Second raspberry

The raspberries and blackberries here at Ladybird Lane are just fantastic this year. That first one this morning was so sweet even after a swig of sweet, creamy coffee. Wow! I love Summer!

P.S. I’m so glad the rabbits don’t care for raspberries. They are raising cane with the roses, peas and broccoli even though I have a pretty good chicken wire fence around the garden. One thing I can’t fence out are the Japanese beetles. They are just starting to show up and are a real terror for for berry growers.

About Mike
A resident of the “30 square miles surrounded by reality,” I spend most of my time teaching economics and statistics to undergraduate students. I enjoy, naturally, economics and business, but also science (I was once an astronomical observatory assistant), politics, photography, food, travel and sports. Madison has grown quite a bit since 1978 when Governor Lee Dreyfus made that remark. According to Wikipedia, Madison is 67.3 square miles of land and 16 square miles of water. Visit for one of my favorite views of the isthmus. Or, why not come visit us!

Comments are closed.

