Stop splashing!


Ladybird Lane seems to attract quite a variety of critters. The squirrels get a lot of attention including their own watering pan … except when a blue jay decides to make it into his personal bath tub. I was kind of surprised by just how far the water flew when the bird started splashing. It looked like it was trying to empty the watering pan. One problem with taking this photo was that I was in a hurry and had to use autofocus and didn’t have it tightly centered on the blue jay. So, the camera kept trying to focus on stuff around the center of action I guess where there was more contrast. Those logs on the right, for example, I can almost count their growth rings. Maybe I need to set up one of the function keys so I can quickly change focus to something more tightly grouped in the center. Any suggestions?

DSC_0104_20130822_bluejay

Comments are closed.

