The face of 18 below zero


Our little squirrely friends, who have a nest inside of a branch of our big weeping willow in the backyard, were a bit hungry this morning. It’s 18 below zero at a little before 10:00 in the morning. So, we took care of them with a little seed and the most prized of all, peanuts. Here’s the face of cold at Ladybird Lane. And, yes, that is frost on the whiskers around his nose. It’s cold!

DSC_1974_20140106_squirrel

It’s pretty windy outside and that makes 18 below zero Fahrenheit (-28 Celsius) feel extremely cold with a windchill of 46 below zero (-43 Celsius). I took the garbage cans to the street and in just a couple of minutes my cheeks were stinging. It’s cold everywhere. The weather map shows the coldest in the immediate Madison area is 24 below zero, just West of us a few miles. And that’s without the wind chill (47 below zero). When I woke up it was 12 below and the weather forecast says we could get down to 23 below before temps turnaround later tonight. If this isn’t the Frozen Tundra I don’t know what is!

Temperatures at 10:00am Jan 6 20140130106Here’s a bit of an update as of 6:30 p.m. Our high today was 11 below zero. Right now we’re heading back down again, currently -14F, and who knows how how low it will get. The rooftop instruments at the atmospheric sciences building on the UW campus provides current data.

5 Responses to The face of 18 below zero

  1. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

    P.S. I would have left you a LIKE on six posts but LIKE buttons are not working for me on blogs with a URL that ends with wordpress.com……..:(

  2. Very nice!

    • Mike says:

      Thanks! The squirrels provide us with so much entertainment. This morning they were really suffering though yet they came out to find some seed and eat some snow. The one in the picture, when he’d turn into the wind, would pull his ear down close to his head.

  3. Got some feathered friends here I fed with bird seed.

    • Mike says:

      Yep, same here though this morning I’ve only seen a couple of them.

