Black-eyed Susan or what?


I would like to call this a black-eyed Susan but it’s missing the black eyes. What’s up with that? If I remember correctly when I planted these a few years ago the seed packet said Rudbeckia with some particular variety name. This flower never gets the black eye. It’s the no-black-eye black-eyed Susan, I guess.

2 Responses to Black-eyed Susan or what?

  1. Jim says:

    I have found rudbeckia to be so much more than just black-eyed susan. My beloved Gloriosa Daisies are a rudbeckia and they present themselves in many different ways, though they do tend to have the black, or reddish brown, eye. Thanks. :)

    • Mike says:

      Thanks, Jim. I do enjoy daisies of all sorts and especially the little ones. Chamomile is one of the prettiest little flowers and ours just keep growing and growing and flowering and flowering all summer as long as we pick the flowers.

